The Martha's Vineyard Museum inspires all people to discover, explore, and strengthen their connections to this Island and its diverse heritage.
A Brief History of the Martha's Vineyard Museum
The museum was originally known as Dukes County Historical Society. It was founded in 1922 and its founders first acquired Revolutionary-era documents, which started the collection.
In 2006, the organization decided to change its name to the Martha's Vineyard Museum. The new name better reflects the organization's mission and its extensive holdings of three-dimensional objects, archival documents, historic books and photographs, paintings, and museum exhibits.